Your cart is currently empty.
February 2024, English
20.5×25.5 cm, 208 pages, 53 color & 67 b/w ill., hardcover
ISBN 978-1-915609-38-0
Stoodio Santiago da Silva
Swiss Institute and Nordnorsk Kunstmuseum

A career-spanning catalogue featuring excerpts from Raven Chacon’s scores, musical prompts, and drawings interspersed with full-color documentation and descriptive texts of installations, sculptures, and performances.

Raven Chacon is a composer and artist creating musical experiences that explore relationships among land, space, and people. In an experimental practice that cuts across the boundaries of visual art, performance, and music, Chacon breaks open musical traditions and activates spaces of performance where the histories of the lands the United States has encroached upon can be contemplated, questioned, and reimagined. In 2022, Raven Chacon became the first Native American to win the Pulitzer Prize for Music, and was awarded a prestigious MacArthur “genius” fellowship in 2023.

The publication features newly commissioned texts including three long-form essays by Aruna D'Souza, Anthony Huberman, and Dylan Robinson/Patrick Nickleson; experimental short-form writing by Raven Chacon, Lou Cornum, Ingir Bål Nango, Marja Bål Nango, Eric-Paul Riege, Ánde Somby, and Sigbjørn Skåden; an introduction by Katya García-Antón and Stefanie Hessler; and a conclusion by Candice Hopkins.